fun

A Bella’s Baguio Tour (May 6-7, 2017)

IMG_9459.JPG

Hi, Bellas!

As a celebration of my mother’s birthday last Saturday , my family and I went on an out of town trip together with my relatives (father’s side) to Baguio . This already served as a bonding for us. But before our trip, I still managed to do my devotion for that day while waiting for our service to arrive as it is my top priority before everything else.

Our Lady of Manaoag Church in Pangasinan
Our Lady of Manaoag Church in Pangasinan

Day 1

My family and I met with our relatives at NLEX gas station to have a small coffee break then prepared for our very long journey to Baguio. It was a very long trip so it was a good thing to bring my iPod along with me to play music. Our first stop was at Our Lady of Manaoag Church located in Pangasinan where we prayed for our safety and well-being.

Chicken Curry Rice
Chicken Curry Rice.. yummm!

The  trip took more than an hour or so that we decided to take our lunch and satisfy our hungry stomach at one of their restaurant which was the Good Taste Restaurant. Much to our surprise, their food serving was enough but still less costly. I ordered chicken curry and soup with siomai for my lunch.

A View of Le Chateau
A View of Le Chateau

After a few more hours of our trip, we finally arrived at an apartelle unit where we are going to stay which was the Le Chateau Baguio (Transient Home and Accomodation). I and my family and relatives checked in upon our arrival and unpacked our stuff to relax for a while before we start touring around the city. Each of us have our own unit to sleep at. We occupied both the yellow and red unit which was at the second floor.

I and my family and relatives checked in upon our arrival and unpacked our stuff to relax for a while before we start touring around the city. Each of us have our own unit to sleep at. We occupied both the yellow and red unit which was at the second floor. I together with my parents and siblings as well as some of my cousins stayed at the yellow unit while the rest of my relatives stayed at the red unit. When you take a closer look at the units, you could say that it was unique for its color coded furniture and other stuff.

At 3 pm, we started our tour and left the apartelle unit then headed to our first stop which was the BenCab Museum (entrance fee is Php 120 per head). Just like any other museums, BenCab Museum has several guidelines for guests to follow and here they are:

  • Guided tours of the Museum and Gardens may be arranged at the reception.
  • Outside food and drinks are not permitted in the Museum. Food and drinks are permitted only in Café Sabel and may not be carried into the galleries or other areas.
  • Smoking is NOT permitted anywhere in the Museum.
  • Still photography for personal use is permitted. No flash or tripods allowed. Videotaping is permitted in the lobby only. No photographs or videotapes may be reproduced , distributed or sold without permission from the Museum.
  • Sketching is permitted in the galleries (note: pencil only, no ink or paint) with sketchbooks no larger than 8 ½ x 11 inches (21.6 x 27.9 cm). No easels, stools or sketching while sitting on the floor is permitted.

We took photos on some of their sample artworks while touring around the Museum to show some appreciation.

What I love and appreciate about the artworks displayed is the uniqueness and creativity. My favorite art works there are the portrait of lovers (spoiler alert: the people painted there are naked.) and the church goers.

After this tour at BenCab Museum, we were supposed to explore the other tourist spots of the city such as the Mines View Park and the likes but unfortunately we weren’t able to push through anymore due to heavy downpour of rain. We were already soaking wet by the time we got back inside the van and just decided to have dinner in our apartelle unit instead of the Café by The Ruins Dua since it’s also quite far away. We also had our Bingo Night activity and called it a day for the next morning.

Day 2

I woke up at 3 AM to have a warm coffee and take a shower before everyone else wakes up. To be honest, I was feeling a bit sick to my stomach (probably because I’m no longer used to waking up in the broad daylight and I had two cups of warm coffee just to fight off the drowsiness). Fortunately, I was still able to take a tour at La Trinidad , Benguet with my family and relatives (we didn’t pick strawberries anymore as it was a bit muddy due to the heavy rain so we decided to just buy them from the market. I bought just one souvenir which was the red and black Baguio City bonnet).

We headed to our next stop which was the Good Shepherd Convent where my mom , siblings, cousins and relatives bought pasalubong. We didn’t stay there long as we still had to attend mass at the Baguio Cathedral since it was a Sunday. More than that, we don’t have much time to explore anymore as we will be heading back home.

Boating Activity at Burnham Park
Boating Activity at Burnham Park

We had our heavy lunch at Dencio’s then headed straight to Burnham Park to stroll a bit as a way of digesting the food we ate. We had a boating activity for 30 minutes then met up with our relatives at the grandstand of the park where we will wait for the van service to pick us up and travel back to Manila.

Selfie with my red and black Baguio City bonnet
Selfie with my red and black Baguio City bonnet

Though the tour was shortened, I was still able to enjoy the experience.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

