music

Song Analysis of “Reflection” by Christina Aguilera

Look at me 
You may think you see
 
Who I really am
 
But you’ll never know me
 
Every day
 
It’s as if I play a part
 
Now I see
 
If I wear a mask
 
I can fool the world
 
But I cannot fool my heart
 

Once in our life, we face judgment for showing our true self. It may be from our family or other people. Just like us, Mulan, the heroine in the story, encounters this similar situation where she has to hide her true identity just to take her father’s place and serve in the army.

Who is that girl I see 
Staring straight back at me?
 
When will my reflection show
 
Who I am inside?
 

Sometimes, we ask ourselves who we really are and when we can really be free to reveal the real us to the world.

I am now 
In a world where I
 
Have to hide my heart
 
And what I believe in
 
But somehow
 
I will show the world
 
What’s inside my heart
 
And be loved for who I am
 

We desire to be loved for who we really are. We also want to show what our heart really wants and what we believe in.

Who is that girl I see 
Staring straight back at me?
 
Why is my reflection
 
Someone I don’t know?
 
Must I pretend that I’m
 
Someone else for all time?
 
When will my reflection show
 
Who I am inside?
 

We all go through this phase when we want to show who we are instead of fooling the world by faking our identity. We want our reflection to reveal us and not just some other person.

There’s a heart that must be 
Free to fly
 
That burns with a need to know
 
The reason why
 

We desire freedom to express who we are.

Why must we all conceal 
What we think, how we feel?
 
Must there be a secret me
 
I’m forced to hide?
 
I won’t pretend that I’m
 
Someone else for all time
 
When will my reflection show
 
Who I am inside?
 
When will my reflection show
 
Who I am inside?

Do we really need to hide our real identity just to impress others for who we are not? Why must there be a need for us to conceal what we really feel?

 

Leave a Reply

